Award Ceremony at Carbon 2018

M. Victoria Martínez Huerta. Instituto de Catálisis y Petroleoquímico (ICP). mmartinez@icp.csic.es

During Award Ceremony at The Word Conference on Carbon 2018, a series of awards to researchers, who have contributed significantly to the scientific and technological advances in carbon in recent years, were presented. The ceremony was presided over by the chair of the Spanish Carbon Group (GEC), Dr. Maria Jesus Lazaro Elorri, and accompanied by Prof. Malcom Heggies to present the Brian Kelly Award, Prof. Alain Penicaud of the Francophone Carbone Society (SFEC) to present the Young Researcher Award and Dr. Mauricio Terrones to present the Carbon Journal Prizes.

European Carbon Association (ECA) Award

The European Carbon Association (ECA) Award, created in 2009, recognises a significant contribution to the European carbon science community carriedout by a scientist from around world, or a remarkable service to the worldwide carbon community carriedout by a scientist from Europe. The award is made on the recommendation of the ECA Award Committee and seeks to honour "Remarkable service to the carbon science community". This year seven persons have been nominated and the European Carbon Association has decided to honour Professor François Béguin with the ECA Award 2018.

Prof. Béguin is a person world-wide known to the

carbon community, especially those dealing with carbons for the application in energy conversion/ storage and environment protection. He is the author of 300 original papers published in high rank international journals and several review articles or book chapters, as well as co-editor of relevant books dealing with energy storage and conversion systems using carbon materials. The professional career of Prof. Béguin was related for many years to the Centre de Recherche sur la Matière Divisée, CNRS-Université d'Orléans. As a leader of carbon research group and the Director of CRMD he strongly contributed to the creation there the laboratory which was opened to students and researchers from different countries. Since 2011 he has shared his knowledge and experience in the field of carbons for energy conversion/storage systems amongst students and postdocs at the Poznan University of Technology (Poland). Professor Béguin has served for several years to the carbon society the chair of the French Carbon Group, acting actively for the sake of ECA.In 2005 he launched a series of very successful conferences on Carbon for Energy Storage and Environment Protection (CESEP). All in all Prof. Béguin is a dedicated professional and he has offered a lot the Carbon community.

Dr. M^a Jesús Lázaro Elorri gave the diploma to Professor François Béguin, who then proceeded to give a short talk about his excellent scientific contribution to the carbon community.



Brian Kelly Prize (British Carbon group)

This annual award was established in 1996 by the British Carbon Group in memory of Brian Kelly, who was a world authority both on the physics of graphite and on irradiation damage in solids. Brian Kelly was born and educated in Wales and spent most of his career working for the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority, UKAEA.

The award is intended as a travel grant for students and early career researchers with up to ten years postdoctoral experience to attend the annual World Carbon Conference. This year the Award Committee of the British Carbon Group has nominated Dr. H. Enis Karahan with his paper on "Factors influencing the antibacterial activity of graphene oxide beyond materials physicochemistry". Dr. Karahan works at the Nanyang Environment and Water Research Institute in Nanyang Technological University. He does research in Carbon Materials, Molecular Assemblies, Colloids & Surfaces, and Nano-Bio Interfaces including Antimicrobial Nanotechnologies.

The award was given by Professor Malcom Heggie. Dr. Karahan then proceeded to give a short talk about his research work.



Francophone Carbone Society (SFEC) Young Researcher Award

This award recognises significant contributions to carbon science or carbon technology made by a "young", non-tenured, scientist or engineer, regardless of his/her country of origin and citizenship, when this work has been conducted in a laboratory from a country whose official language is French, or by a citizen from a country whose official language is French and whose awarded work has been carriedout anywhere in the world. The laboratory may be academic and public, or from a private company.

This year the SFEC Award Committee has nominated Dr. Alicia Gomis Berenguer. She incorporated as PhD fellow to INCAR-CSIC (Oviedo, Spain) in 2013 where he developed research activities related to exploring the photochemical activity of nanoporous carbons for energy conversion and environmental remediation. After obtained her PhD in 2016, she joined as post-doctoral researcher to POR2E group in CEMHTI-CNRS (Orléans, France) where she develops work focused on optimizing the nanoporous carbon layout in a controlled way to achieve stable carbon photocatalyst and photoelectrodes with high efficiency for solar energy conversion.

The award was given by Dr. Alain Penicaud. Dr. Gomis then proceeded to give a short talk about her scientific career.



Carbon Journal Prize

The journal Carbon and its publisher Elsevier are awarding the Carbon Journal Prize, given for "an outstanding Ph.D. thesis in carbon material science and technology". The selection was made based on the quality and importance of the Ph.D. research, and preference also was given to thesis research that had led to at least one publication in the journal Carbon.

The winner of the Carbon Journal Prize for 2018 is Dr. Md Julker Nine. The committee has also recognised Dr. Nithya Subramanian, Dr. Youfeng Zhang, and Dr. José Francisco Vivo Vilches for a second-place in the international 2018 Carbon Journal Prize competition.



Dr. Mauricio Terrones gave the award to Dr. José Francisco Vivo Vilches, who was the only prize-winner to attend the congress. Dr. Vivo then proceeded to give a short talk about his research work.