Plenary speakers

Plenary speakers

Chemistry from the University of Alicante in 1988 and obtained his PhD from this University in 1991. He spent pre- and postdoctoral stays at the Université Claude Bernard (France), Tohoku University (Japan) and Brown University (USA), among others. He became Associate Professor in 1994 at the University of Alicante and promoted as Full Professor in 2002. He is co-author of more than 230 papers and book chapters and 13 patents and has supervised 22 PhD students. His research interests include the design of a wide range of materials, including carbon materials, zeolites, mesoporous materials and metal-containing nanoparticles. He is especially interested in the synthesis, characterization and applications of different forms of carbon materials. He has made the most relevant contributions in the synthesis of high surface area porous carbons and in the modification of the surface chemistry in order to optimize their applications in the areas of environmental protection and energy storage and production.

Dr. Diego Cazorla-Amorós is Professor in Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Alicante and Director of the Materials Institute of this university. He graduated in

Dr. Yury Gogotsi is Charles T. and Ruth M. Bach Professor, Distinguished University Professor and Trustee Chair of Materials Science and

Engineering at Drexel University. He also serves as Director of the A.J. Drexel Nanomaterials Institute. He received his MS (1984) and PhD (1986) from Kiev Polytechnic and a DSc degree from the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences in 1995. His research group works on nanostructured carbons, 2D carbides and other nanomaterials for energy, water and biomedical applciations. He has co-authored 2 books, 16 book chapters, more than 500 papers in peer-reviewed journals, edited 13 books, and obtained more than 50 patents. He was recognized as Highly Cited Researcher by Thomson-Reuters in 2014-2016 (h-index >100, Google Scholar).

He has received numerous awards for his research including the European Carbon Association Award, S. Somiya Award from the International Union of Materials Research Societies, International Nanotechnology Prize (RUSNANOPrize), R&D 100 Award from R&D Magazine (twice) and two Nano 50 Awards from NASA Nanotech Briefs. He has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), Materials Research Society, American Ceramic Society, the Electrochemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry, NanoSMAT Society, as well as Academician of the World Academy of Ceramics and Full Member of the International Institute for the Science of Sintering. He also serves on the MRS Board of Directors.

Graduate and PhD in Chemistry. Full research professor at the Department of Chemistry of Materials, Instituto Nacional del Carbón (INCAR), CSIC in Oviedo, Spain. She has supervised 20 PhD theses and 22 MSc in the fields of Materials, Chemistry and Energy. She has published more than 200 papers in recognized journals and 9 patents. Main researcher in 28 projects, 10 of which belonged to European Research Programs, coordinator of 5. Awarded with recognitions such as:  Schunk Carbon Award, XIX Science DuPont Award and the Spanish Materials Society to the best scientific career, among others. On parallel, she has occupied several leading positions such as director of INCAR and Vicepresident of CSIC. Active in National and International Committees, coordinator and member of several evaluation panels.

Maurizio Prato graduated in Padova, where he was appointed Assistant Professor in 1983. He moved to Trieste in 1992 as an Associate Professor to become Full Professor in 2000. From 2015, he is also Ikerbasque Research Professor at CIC BiomaGUNE, Spain. He spent sabbatical terms at Yale University with Sam Danishefsky (1986-7) and at the University of California, Santa Barbara with Fred Wudl (1991-2). He was Visiting Professor at the École Normale Supérieure de Paris (2001), at the University of Namur, Belgium (2010) and the University of Strasbourg (2014). He was the recipient of an ERC Advanced Research Grant, European Research Council, in 2008 and became a Member of the National Academy of Sciences (Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei) in 2010.

His research focuses on the synthesis and applications of new functional materials, for the study of their optical and electrochemical properties. Especially, he has worked on the functionalization of carbon nanostructures, including fullerenes, carbon nanotubes and graphene. He developed a series of organic reactions that make these materials more biocompatible, less or even non toxic, amenable to further functionalization, and easier to manipulate. Presently, he is interested in transferring the properties of these materials into applications, which include the possibility of spinal cord repair, the splitting of water, and the reduction of carbon dioxide into useful chemicals.

Dr. Hui-Ming Cheng is Professor and Director of both Advanced Carbon Research Division of Shenyang National Laboratory for Materials Science, Institute of Metal Research, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and the Low-Dimensional Material and Device Laboratory of the Tsinghua-Berkeley Shenzhen Institute, Tsinghua University. His research activities focus on carbon nanotubes, graphene, other low-dimensional materials, energy storage materials, photocatalytic semiconducting materials, and bulk carbon materials. He has published over 500 papers with >50,000 citations and is recognized as a Highly Cited Researcher in both materials science and chemistry fields by Thomson Reuters. He used to be the Editor of Carbon and Editor-in-Chief of New Carbon Materials, and is now the founding Editor-in-Chief of Energy Storage Materials and Associate Editor of Science China Materials. He was elected as a member of Chinese Academy of Sciences and a fellow of TWAS.